The Bird Dance (Heftet)

Elling Book 2

Series: Elling 2


Ingvar Ambjørnsen

Norwegian title: Fugledansen
Binding: Heftet
Year: 2017
Pages: 208
Publisher: Cappelen Damm
Språk: Bokmål
Series: Elling
Serienummer: 2
ISBN/EAN: 9788202512255
Kategori: Literature and Fiction
Overview Fugledansen

An intelligent, sad but at the same time funny book.

In The Bird Dance Elling wakes up in a psychiatric institution in the same room as Kjell Bjarne. Two weird people slowly approaching each other, and a frail friendship evolve. In this book we also get the story of how Elling and his mother made a desperate attempt of having a normal vacation in the Spanish town Benidorm.

Ingvar Ambjørnsen received the Brage Prize of 1995 for this novel.

“Books rarely make me laugh, almost never, in fact – but I make an exception for Ambjørnsen because with him, there’s nothing for it but to give in. But now and then I feel like crying, because this is so sad too.


“A story that swings – from the deepest abyss to the most unbridled slapstick – and at the same time the composition is taut… a magnificent novel.”


“… a lavishly funny, tragicomic novel…”


“… impressive portrayal of an uncommon mind.”


“… a wonderful book.”


Ambjørnsen’s cuckoo’s nest

“… an intelligent book that is at once sad and funny…”


“… must be one of the best books to appear between two covers this autumn.”


To the top

More books by Ingvar Ambjørnsen:

Reviews Fugledansen

"Det er sjeldent jeg ler av en bok, nesten aldri faktisk, men for Ambjørnsen gjør jeg et unntak, for her er det bare å gi seg over. Men innimellom får jeg lyst til å gråte, for det er så trist også."

Magnhild Bruheim, NRK

"...imponerende om et annerledes sinn."

Eiliv Eide, Bergens Tidende

"En historie som svinger - fra den dypeste avgrunn til den mest hemningsløse slapstick, samtidig som komposisjonen er stram...en praktfull roman."

Ole Jacob Hoel, Adresseavisen

To the top

Author Ingvar Ambjørnsen

Ingvar Ambjørnsen (b. 1956) is considered to be one of the great storytellers of contemporary Norwegian literature. Since his literary début in 1981, Ambjørnsen has written twentyfour novels and three collections of short stories, as well as essay collections and several books for children and youth. He has won a number of awards, including the Riverton Prize, the Brage Award, the Booksellers’ Award and the Riksmål Prize. His works are sold to ... countries. Many of them have been adapted into films with great success. The movie Elling, based on Ambjørnsen’s novels Fugledansen and Brødre i blodet, was nominated to an Oscar in 2001, and Elling the theatre play has appeared on stage in several theatres around Europe to great acclaim.

Ambjørnsen’s books are often characterized by powerful, realistic descriptions of the seamier side of life. The protagonists tend to be outsiders – described with sympathetic insight and warmth. Loneliness and friendship are expressed in a concise literary style. His break-through novel from 1986, Hvite niggere (White Trash), is an excellent example of this. It is a crass exposure of the plight of that unfortunate soul seeking out an existence in sub-cultures.

Still, most readers will know Ambjørnsen’s work through a quartet of novels about the odd-ball Elling. Utsikt til paradiset (A Vision of Paradise) from 1993, Fugledansen (The Chicken Dance) from 1995, Brødre i blodet (Beyond the Great Indoors) from 1996 and Elsk meg i morgen (Love Me Tomorrow) from 1999 established Ambjørnsen as one of the most widely read Norwegian authors in the past few decades, with half a million copies in print. Ambjørnsen introduced something entirely new with this quartet. The books contain less external plot, but proportionately more crazy inventiveness and absurd, gentle humour. The novels depict the loneliness of their protagonist – and the dream of friendship and romantic love. It is an entertaining, thought-provoking read. Some reviewers has called Elling “the Norwegian Forest Gump”.

The Cappelen Prize 1988.
The City of Hamburg Grant.
The City of Lübeck Grant.
The best book for Young Readers of the 1980's for Døden på Oslo S (Death in Oslo Central Station) 1991.
The Brage Prize 1995 for Fugledansen (The Bird Dance).
The Booksellers' Prize 1996 for Brødre i blodet (Beyond the Great Indoors).
Oslo City Cultural Prize 2001.
Anders Jahre's Cultural Prize 2004.
The Salvation Army's Booth Prize 2004.

To the top

Bøker i serien
Foreign rights