Beatles (Heftet)

Series: Beatles-trilogien 1


Lars Saabye Christensen

Norwegian title: Beatles, filmpocket
Binding: Heftet
Year: 2014
Pages: 736
Publisher: Cappelen Damm
Språk: Bokmål
Originaltittel: Beatles
Series: Beatles-trilogien
Serienummer: 1
ISBN/EAN: 9788202437985
Overview Beatles, filmpocket

This is the story about four Beatles-crazed Oslo-boys born in the year of 1951. We follow them from they as seventh graders are standing on the verge of taking the leap into adulthood - “We took the Future in advance, and it looked damned good”. The story ends in the fall of 1972, as the swells of the youth protests of Europe is flooding them and their protected bourgeois environment, no feet left dry.

BEATLES was first published in 1984, and is among the greatest sales successes in modern Norwegian Publishing. The novel was Lars Saabye Christensens great break through as a writer, and it is read by generation after generation.

Beatles is the first book in a trilogy, followed by Lead (1990) and The Funeral (2008). Readers of Dagbladet named the book Best Norwegian Novel of the last 25 years in 2006.

"An exquisitely told story. It can be read right through, tasting of an entire summer and half a childhood."
PUBLICO, Portugal

"A celebration of love and friendship, and with acceptance for the great loneliness of the soul. Beatles is literary Blues. Read it. Hum, sigh, laugh. Enjoy!"
AKTUELT, Denmark

"His details are superb. In short scenes or hastily passing lines, he captures the atmosphere exactly."

"Christensen really can play with styles, rapidly changing voices – he glides from melancholia to darkness and grotesque, then puts us right in the middle of a chaotic stream of consciousness. He can disarm raw seriousness with subtle humor."

"Lars Saabye Christensen, the author of the cult Halvbroren, proved already with his debut Beatles that he is a master of prose."

To the top

More books by Lars Saabye Christensen:

Reviews Beatles, filmpocket

«En hyldest til kjærlighed og venskab og en accept af sjælens store ensomhed. Beatles er en litterær blues. Læs den. Nyn, suk, grin. Nyd!»

Aktuelt, Danmark

«En utsøkt fortalt historie. Den kan leses i ett drag, og smaker av en hel sommer og en halv barndom»

Publico, Portugal

"Hans detajarbete är suveränt. I korta scener eller hastigt förbiflimrande repliker fångar han exact atmosfären."

Göteborgs Tidende

"En hyldest til kjærlighed og venskab og en accept af sjælens store ensomhed. BEATLES er en litterær blues. Læs den. Nyn, suk, grin. Nyd!"


"Den ømmeste og sannferdigste bok om ungdom jeg har lest på lange, lange tider."

Kolbein Falkeid

"Velskreven, varm, sjarmerende."

Knut Faldbakken, Dagbladet

To the top

Author Lars Saabye Christensen

Lars Saabye Christensen (1953–) has published a number of novels, poetry and short story collections since his literary debut in 1976 with The Story of Gly. His breakthrough came with Beatles (1984), one of the greatest literary sales successes in Norway that, over the years, new generations continue to hold close to their hearts. The author received the Nordic Council Literature Prize for The Half Brother in 2001.

He has also received the Riverton Prize, the Critics' Prize, the Brage Prize, the Norwegian Booksellers' Prize, the Dobloug Prize and the Norwegian Reader's Prize. The author has been published in 36 countries.

To the top

Bøker i serien
Foreign rights