The Last Fox Hunt (Innbundet)

Series: Deluxe-utgave Stjerne 


Ingvar Ambjørnsen

Norwegian title: Den siste revejakta (Jubileumsutgave)
Binding: Innbundet
Year: 2013
Pages: 272
Publisher: Cappelen Damm
Språk: Bokmål
Originaltittel: Den siste revejakta
Series: Deluxe-utgave Stjerne
ISBN/EAN: 9788202419165
Overview Den siste revejakta (Jubileumsutgave)

The Last Fox Hunt (Den siste revejakta) was Ingvar Ambjørnsen´s great break through, first published in 1983. Unvarnished and raw, with acid black humour, the story is whipped out of the big city frenzy. The story of group of outsiders where the law beyond the law is rock hard and brutal, but where there is also love and friendship. The Last Fox Hunt is intensely exciting, and so well written that it will make your cold sweat run. This novel is a cult classic for readers of all ages.

When you are neck high in shit, it is time to get out. Let it all go, find your girl and reach for the dream about a quiet life. Carl F. Vang just has to do the last, great deal - receiving a shipment in the middle of the fjord on a stormy night, deal with certain people and at the same time stay clear of his enemies. After that....

From the introduction written by Ingvar Ambjørnsen for the 30 year anniversary of the novel:
I was writing all winter in a dark studio apartment in Grünerløkka - in those days a part of the city almost without any bars or other temptations. The books published at the time where, to say it in drug jargon, a total bust. The publishers being tricked by stories about girls doing shots of LSD before going to school, and so on, in that style. One step away from syringes filled with marijuana. Both the police and the media did not know the difference between hard drugs like heroin and morphine, and soft drugs like weed. Well, they seriously still don´t know. This was why I wanted to write a Norwegian novel about how things really went down, from an environment that I knew as the back of my hand.

To the top

More books by Ingvar Ambjørnsen:

Author Ingvar Ambjørnsen

Ingvar Ambjørnsen (b. 1956) is considered to be one of the great storytellers of contemporary Norwegian literature. Since his literary début in 1981, Ambjørnsen has written a great number of novels, collections of short stories as well as essay collections, and several books for children and young readers.

Over the span of his career, he has won numerous awards, including the Riverton Prize, the Brage Prize for Best Fiction, the Norwegian Booksellers’ Award and the Aschehoug Prize. Ingvar Ambjørnsen has been published in 30 countries. Several of his novels have successful films and theatre adaptions. The movie Elling, based on Ambjørnsen’s novels The Chicken Dance and Beyond the Great Indoors, was nominated to an Oscar in 2001. - The play Elling has appeared on stage in theatres around Europe to great acclaim.

Ambjørnsen’s books are often characterized by powerful, realistic descriptions of the seamier side of life. The protagonists tend to be outsiders – described with sympathetic insight and warmth. Loneliness and friendship are expressed in a concise literary style. His break-through novel from 1986, White Trash (Hvite niggere), is an excellent example of this. It is a crass exposure of the plight of that unfortunate soul seeking out an existence in sub-cultures.

Still, most readers will know Ambjørnsen’s work through a quartet of novels about the odd-ball Elling. A Vision of Paradise (Utsikt til paradiset) from 1993, The Chicken Dance (Fugledansen) from 1995, Beyond the Great Indoors (Brødre i blodet) from 1996 and Love Me Tomorrow (Elsk meg i morgen) from 1999 established Ambjørnsen as one of the most widely read Norwegian authors in the past few decades, with over half a million copies in print. Elling also made a popular come back with the books Echo of a Friend (Ekko av en venn) in 2019 and Yoko Ono is a Charlatan (Yoko Ono er en sjarlatan) in 2020.

Ambjørnsen introduced something entirely new with his books about Elling. The books contain less external plot, but proportionately more crazy inventiveness and absurd, gentle humour. The novels depict the loneliness of their protagonist – and the dream of friendship and romantic love. The books are entertaining, thought-provoking reads. Some reviewers has called Elling “the Norwegian Forest Gump”.

The Cappelen Prize 1988.
The City of Hamburg Grant.
The City of Lübeck Grant.
The best book for Young Readers of the 1980's for Death in Oslo Central Station (Døden på Oslo S) 1991.
The Brage Prize 1995 for The Bird Dance (Fugledansen).
The Booksellers' Prize 1996 for Beyond the Great Indoors (Brødre i blodet).
Oslo City Cultural Prize 2001.
Anders Jahre's Cultural Prize 2004.
The Salvation Army's Booth Prize 2004.
The Willy Brandt-Prize 2012.
The Aschehoug Prize 2023.
The Honorary Brage Prize 2023.

To the top

Bøker i serien
Foreign rights