The Victors (Heftet)


Roy Jacobsen

Norwegian title: Seierherrene
Binding: Heftet
Year: 2009
Pages: 640
Publisher: Cappelen Damm
Språk: Bokmål
ISBN/EAN: 9788202309077
Overview Seierherrene

The Victors from 1991 is a grand epic about the rise of the Norwegian social democracy. The novel is divided into two parts. The first takes place at the northwestern coast of Norway, and is a depiction of the hard lives of the poor farmers who were also fishermen in the first half of the 20th Century. The milieu is much the same as in The Unseen, Jacobsen's bestselling novel from 2013. The second part is about the same family, having moved to Oslo. Now we find ourselves in the 60´s, and the narrative has changed to a first person perspective. Some of the characters and the milieu here are recognizable from Jacobsen's novel from 2009, Wonder Child.

The Victors marked Roy Jacobsen's great break-through in Norway. It earned him the Norwegian Booksellers' Prize, and a nomination to the Nordic Council's Literature Prize.

´A story have not been told better on this side of Hamsun.´

´This is one of the strongest depictions of poverty and the culture of the impoverished in the Nordic countries that I have read. Roy Jacobsen builds the story with overview and great sense for details. He also has a visible unschooled engagement for class differences that I have not seen the likes of since Martin Andersen Nexø.´

To the top

More books by Roy Jacobsen:

Reviews Seierherrene

"Det ãr en av de starkaste skildringar av fattigliv og fattigkultur i Norden som jag har lãst. Roy Jacobsen bygger med både õverblick og intrãngande detaljkunskap. Han har dessutom ett brett och odoktrinãrt klassengagemang som man knappast sett maken till sedan Martin Andersen Nexø."

Lars Olof Franzén, Dagens Nyheter

"Stort bedre har det ikke vært fortalt på denne siden av Hamsun."

Tinic Talén, VG

To the top

Author Roy Jacobsen

Roy Jacobsen (b. 1954) is regarded as one of the most influential contemporary authors in Norway, and has since his sensational debut in 1982, with the short story collection Prison Life, which won him the prestigious Tarjei Vesaas’ Debutant Prize, developed into an original and daring author with a special interest in the underlying psychological interplay in human relationships. He has been nominated three times for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and twice for the Nordic Council Literature Prize. In 2017 he was shortlisted for both the Man Booker International Prize, as the first Norwegian author ever, and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, for The Unseen.

In 2013 Jacobsen’s authorship reached a new milestone with the publication of The Unseen, book one in his now completed Barrøy trilogy. It is set in the first half of the 20th century on an island on the North-Western coast of Norway, and is a monument over human courage and life-saving practical and social knowledge. White Shadow followed in 2015, The Eyes of Rigel in 2017 and Just a Mother in 2020. The Barrøy quartet became an immediate critically acclaimed sales success, it has been translated into 28 languages, and has sold nearly 500.000 copies in Norway alone. In total, Jacobsen has been translated into 38 languages

To the top

Foreign rights